home News UCC dominate Smedias shortlist

UCC dominate Smedias shortlist

The shortlist for the National Student Media Awards were announced yesterday evening, and entries from University College Cork were heavily featured on the list. Publications & journalists from all across the country were represented across 29 categories on the list, with UCC receiving 49 mentions in total. The UCC entries, coming from the UCC Express, Motley Magazine and UCC 98.3fm, as well as students’ individual blogs & journalistic endeavors, represent & recognise the hard work put in by all in the last 12 months. These shortlists will be reduced again, with official nominations being announced either later this week or early next week. Some categories, such as Magazine of the Year and the Irish Times Student Hub award, were not listed, and will be announced alongside the pared-down shortlists on the Smedias website. The winners will be announced on April 6th at the official awards ceremony, which will be taking place in the home of Irish football & rugby, the Aviva Stadium (Lansdowne Road).

The UCC students shortlisted for Student Media Awards are as follows:
Robert O’Sullivan (Editor of the Year, Sports Writer of the Year, Magazine Layout & Design of the Year, Radio Production – News & Current Affairs), Jill Kingston (Editor of the Year), Eoin McSweeney (Editor of the Year, European Commission Award), Ryan O’Neill (Journalist of the Year), Emily Freud (Journalist of the Year, Features Writer – News & Current Affairs), Killian Down (Journalist of the Year, Features Writer – Arts & Pop Culture, Colour Writer of the Year), Dylan O’Connell (Journalist of the Year – National Press, Sports Writer of the Year), Gemma Kent (Features Writer – Arts & Pop Culture), Mairin Rua Ní Aodha (Features Writer – News & Current Affairs), Colman Moloney (Features Writer – News & Current Affairs), Aoife NicGearailt (Iriseoriacht Scríofa – listed twice), James McAuliffe (Iriseoriacht Scríofa), Hassan Baker (Colour Writer of the Year), Cormac Dineen (Colour Writer of the Year), Elizabeth Hession (Colour Writer of the Year, Short Story of the Year), Sarah Ryan (Colour Writer of the Year), Beth Alexander (Newspaper Layout & Design of the Year – mislabeled as a UCD student), Colm Cahalane (Magazine Layout & Design of the Year, Website of the Year), Sam McNally (European Commission Award), Evan Smith (European Commission Award, Science Education Writer of the Year, Short Story of the Year, Website of the Year), Liam Kennedy (Journalism Related to Road Safety), Michelle Beazley (Journalism Related to Road Safety), Cailean Coffey (Journalism Related to Road Safety), Mary Collins (Journalism Related to Road Safety, Science Education Writer of the Year), Ciara Dinneen (Science Education Writer of the Year), Lauren Mulvihill (Short Story of the Year), Sophie McKenzie (Short Story of the Year), Rob O’Neill (Radio DJ of the Year, Radio Journalist of the Year), Michael Boland (Radio Production – News & Current Affairs), Michaela Peters & John Mullane (Radio Journalist of the Year), James Hickey & Seán Ó Laoghaire (Raidio Trí Gaeilge) and Aisling Ní Ghealbháin, Daniel Ó hIarfhlaith & Alex Ní Philibín (Raidio Trí Gaeilge).

The UCC Express is also up for Newspaper of the Year, and it is expected that Motley Magazine will be able to defend their crown in the ‘Magazine of the Year’ category, which they have won the last three years running, though nothing has been announced at the time of writing. The Express, Motley and UCC 98.3fm are all up for the People’s Choice Award, which you can vote in now. The Express leads the UCC pack by a wide margin, battling it out with UL’s An Focal for the top spot. Voting for the People’s Choice Award closes on March 30th. A full list of the shortlisted categories can be found here.